solos and duets for piano, flute and violasolos and duets for piano, viola, cello, flute, sax, and voice

“Many musical gems: pieces of deceptive simplicity, yet sublime in their subtlety and elegance. And though much of the music is simple in format – works for solo viola, flute, ‘cello, saxophone; haunting melodies played over sparse piano accompaniment – it is nevertheless music of great substance: refined works whose artistry and depth only become apparent after repeated listenings. stillwood is music for quiet evenings, for times of reflection, for times of peace. It is music of great sadness and great joy, music worthy of accompanying the drama which is our lives.”

“I Virtuosi Records is a new record label which features the works of classically-trained composer-performers, primarily aimed at an adventurous classical audience. However, two of their first six releases have been enjoying quite a bit of success with new age aficionados. Specifically, stillwood by Canadian composer-pianist Chris Wind…” Music for a New Age

Check out this performance by Maximos Farmakidis of my “lament” (originally written for viola, but performed on contrabass) as part of the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchestra’s “Great Music Performance Series” on their YouTube channel.

  1. 1. lament 3:24
  2. 2. stillwood (1) 2:43
  3. 3. stillwood (2) 1:41
  4. 4. pieces for flute and piano (1) 2:53
  5. 5. pieces for flute and piano (2) 2:28
  6. 6. solo for flute (1) 1:11
  7. 7. solo for flute (2) 1:18
  8. 8. solo for flute (3) 2:02
  9. 9. piece for piano and vocalise 1:52
  10. 10. pieces for piano op.1 no.5 3:17
  11. 11. untitled 2:18
  12. 12. pieces for piano op.2 no.2 1:20
  13. 13. pieces for piano op.2 no.3 2:08
  14. 14. pieces for piano op.2 no.4 1:44
  15. 15. pieces for sax (1) 3:08
  16. 16. theme and variations 2:36
  17. 17. etude 2:00
  18. 18. solo for cello 4:08
  19. 19. sonata - I largo 5:58
  20. 20. sonata - II rubato 4:03
  21. 21. sonata - III andante 0:53
Download all of the tracks (mp3s at 320kbps) in a zip file here (free):

A limited number of CDs are available; please inquire.
Click here to download the sheet music for any of the pieces on this album (also free).

*Sheet music for “solo for flute (1)” and “piece for flute and piano (2)” appears in The Magical Flute – Book 1 (The Avondale Press); sheet music for “piece for flute and piano (1)” appears in The Magical Flute – Book 2 (The Avondale Press).


Piano – chris wind
Viola – Douglas Perry
Flute – Dianne Aitken
Voice – Cilla Dale
Saxophone – Daniel Rubinoff
Cello – Paul Widner

All pieces composed and published by chris wind, SOCAN

Recorded and edited by Paul Hodge, The Music Gallery, Toronto
Mastered by Joseph Patrych, New York

Produced by David Berends and chris wind for I Virtuosi Records, a division of Ingleside Music, P. O. Box 320, Pennington, NJ 08534 (609-737-3328)

Cover photograph by Paul Gabel
Cover design by Main Street Design, Pennington, NJ

© 1995 chris wind


Comments are closed.